Help the Royal Cornwall Museum encourage all future generations to be inspired by Cornish heritage. Find Out More

The UK’s Greatest Museum For Cornish Life & Culture | Free For Children

Royal Cornwall Museum


The Winston Graham Historical Fiction Prize


A unanimous decision by the Winston Graham Prize for Historical Fiction judging panel gave Ian Mortimer the top prize of £3000 for his book ‘The Outcasts of Time’ published by Simon and Schuster.

Summing up the comments of judges, Peggotty Graham,Chair of the judging panel, said “Ian Mortimer’s book is extremely well researched, provides tremendous breadth, lively writing and a very satisfying plot and conclusion”.

Ian Wall, Director of the Royal Institution of Cornwall commented“Cornwall is incredibly proud of its rich heritage and as an organisation celebrating its 200th anniversary, we are extremely fortunate to have an endowment fund bequeathed to us by Winston Graham, along with his original notebooks held at the Courtney Library. This generous legacy enables us to run the Winston Graham Prize, a literary competition which celebrates published works about the South West which follow in the wake of Winston Graham’s Poldark legacy”.

The competition judges’ panel was chaired by Peggotty Graham, Winston Graham’s daughter-in-law, who was joined by Tracey Guiry, the Director of The Poetry Archive, Jane Bingham, Royal Literary Fund Fellow, and Ian Wall, the Director of the Royal Cornwall Museum.

The museum are delighted to launch the next round of the prize and are accepting entries of novels published in the last three years prior to the deadline of June 2020.

Terms & Conditions For Web

Cardew-Rendle History Prize 

Thanks to a generous legacy from the estate of Harold Cornelius Cardew-Rendle, we are proud to announce the launch of the 2018 Cardew-Rendle History Prize.

To enter, competitors need to submit an original researched essay, 6000-8000 words in length, on any aspect of Cornish history or pre-history.  A prize of £2000 will be awarded to the winner, with two runners up prizes of £250 each. The winning essay will be considered for publication in the 2019 RIC Journal.

The Winner of the 2018 Cardew-Rendle Prize is Alexis Jordan

The Charles Thomas Prize

This prize of £100 is awarded for a piece of research, on any aspect of Cornwall, and is funded by the legacy from the historian and archaeologist, Prof Charles Thomas.